You should check these Slack privacy options right now

0

Advertisement: Click here to learn how to Generate Art From Text

It’s a Searchable Log for All Conversations and KnowledgeWe’re just living it.

SlackKnows all your secrets. Your trash talking DMs, your business plans made with the boss, numerous untold corporate musings — they all fill the San Francisco-based company’s servers, waiting to be viewed by a The nosey CEO, a skilled HackerThe. entire world.

Like most online services, the communications platform many rely on to stay in touch with their friends and for work is a privacy disaster just waiting to happen. You may not be able choose to use this tool, but you can lock down its privacy settings in order to minimize any potential fallout.

Let’s lock the doors.

1. Bosses are reading your DMs

Slack is a paid service if you use it for work. This differs from the free version — which, say, your D&D crew might utilize to coordinate campaigns and meet ups — in several important ways.

The first is that your boss may be able to see your direct messages if you have the paid version. It is important to check if the setting is enabled in order to keep your DMs hidden. There’s a simple way to do this.

While signed into Slack in a web browser, head to slack.com/account/team and then click on “Retention & Exports.” Scroll down and click on “What data my admins can access.” You’ll get the answer.

You’re on blast
Credit: Slack

If the page only states that PublicationsYour boss cannot access your DMs because data can be exported. If it says “Workspace Owners may also export files and messages from private channels and Direct Messages,” then your corporate overlords will be able to access your direct messages.

2. Retention settings

Now that you know your boss can read direct messages, it’s time to move on. It’s a shame, but it’s not all bad. There are several ways to protect yourself or at least minimize the harm that this will cause.

You should first adjust the so-called “retention settings” on your device. The following are some of the most effective ways to improve your own personal effectiveness.Direct messages. Slack gives workspace administrators (i.e. the person managing your company’s Slack account) the ability to determine how long messages — both in public channels and direct messages — are saved. It could be 90 days or forever, for example. However, workspace owners can give their users the option to change the retention settings of conversations in which they are involved.

If you have this power, you can and should adjust this setting on your own direct messages. Imagine this: If your boss wanted to see all of your direct messages, it would be better if he had a record of them for years. Or only the last 24 hours? Yeah, exactly.

Click on the gear icon at the top-right corner of the conversation and then select “edit the message retention.” Next, click “Use Custom Retention Settings for This Conversation,” select one day (the shortest time period you can choose), and then click save.

A screenshot of Slack's custom retention settings.

Bye, bye.
Credit: Slack

Your messages are now deleted automatically after 24 hour. Note that this does not necessarily mean the messages have been deleted from Slack’s servers (they probably aren’t), but they shouldn’t be accessible to the workspace owner after a single day.

This is something you’ll have to do for every direct message conversation. But it’s quick and worth it.

3. Encrypt it

Slack does NOT offer end-toend encryption of your messages.

Shhlack is a free browser add-on that can help you get around this problem. The extension, which is available for ChromeYou and your coworkers can encrypt all of your messages. It’s pretty simple to use, and means your private convos won’t be viewable in cleartext when your boss — or hackers — takes a peek.

As the GitHub page“This is a project that is still in progress and should be taken “with a grain or two of salt.” If you need to keep your messages 100% private for any reason, such as your job, or corporate secrets, then you will want to take more drastic privacy measures.

4. Change of venue

This is more of a tip than a setting. But it could save you.

Try creating a private Slack Channel (with a short-term retention setting!)You can also get the phone number of the person you want to talk to and message them via the encrypted messaging application. Signal. You can place encrypted calls over the Free app, create large group threads, send documents, conduct video chats and set messages to delete automatically after a certain amount of time.

There’s also a desktop version if you’re not a fan of typing with your thumbs.

5. You can’t delete your problematic comments

It may seem that editing Slack messages post-factum is a foolproof way to remove potentially problematic content. Guess what? Some Slack accounts keep track of edits and messages before they are edited.

If you know if this option is enabled, you can avoid making the mistake that you are in the clear, when in reality, all you have done is make it obvious that you’re trying cover your tracks.

A screenshot of text explaining how long the conversation history in a Slack channel is kept.

They know what changes you are making.
Credit: Screenshot / Slack

While logged into your Slack account, go to https://my.slack.com/account/workspace-settings and click “Retention & Exports.” You’ll find all the answers you need here.

Slack has a number of settings that can affect the message you send. But it’s still best to think before sending anything that could come back and bite you.

6. 2FA

Keep your account secure by keeping it private. Protecting your Account with two-factor authenticationThis is a great method to keep hackers out.

You can also read about how to get started. Set it up, when signed in, head to my.slack.com/account/settings. If you are able to activate the feature, you will see an “Two Factor Authentication” button. Click “expand,” then follow the prompts. This requires that you have downloaded an authenticator app on your phone. Tonnage It is safe You can find out more about this by clicking here.Slack allows you to work together.

Trust me: you really want to enable this security feature.

7. A blank slate

Let’s say that you want to leave Slack. Or, you’re leaving your company and won’t be using this Slack account anymore. You may think that deleting an account will delete all your personal information, but that’s not true.

It is better to ask for the workspace’s “primary” owner. Ask Slack to delete your profile info.

“When members leave an workspace or organization, they may be able to request that their profile information is deleted by the primary owners.” What is the company?. “As data controller, it is the primary owner’s responsibility to determine whether profile information needs to be deleted.”

This primary owner then must email Slack [email protected]You can also find out more about A specific deletion request, noting “the member’s email address and your workspace URL.”

Once you’ve made that decision, you can enjoy your privacy.

UPDATE: January 22, 2024 at 5:55 pm AEDT This article was first published in July 2019 and has been updated since Jan. 2024.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *